Home  >  Media Center  >  News Article
print   Bookmark and Share  |  A  A  A
News Article

15 Georgia Health Sciences physicians named “America’s Top Doctors”

Augusta, GA


Dr. Ricardo Azziz
Dr. Ricardo Azziz 
Dr. Sharad Ghamande
Dr. Sharad A. Ghamande 
 Dr. David Hess
Dr. David C. Hess

Dr. Anand P. Jillella 

Dr. Bruce V. MacFadyen 

Dr. Walter J. Moore 
Dr. Julian Nussbaum
Dr. Julian J. Nussbaum 
Dr. Dennis Ownby
Dr. Dennis R. Ownby 
Dr. Gregory Postma
Dr. Gregory N. Postma 
Dr. Kapil Sethi
Dr. Kapil D. Sethi 
Dr. Sandra Sexson
Dr. Sandra G. B. Sexson 
Dr. Robert Sorrentino
Dr. Robert A. Sorrentino 
Dr. David Terris
 Dr. David J. Terris 
Dr. Martha Terris
Dr. Martha K. Terris
Dr. Jack Yu
Dr. Jack C. Yu 

Fifteen Georgia Health Sciences University and Health System physicians are the only physicians in the Augusta-Aiken area included in the prestigious list of “America’s Top Doctors,” a national patient reference guide published by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. The book, now in its 11th edition, identifies the top 1 percent of physicians in the nation, helping patients find recognized specialists in any given medical field. GHS physicians have made the list for more than a decade.

The 15 physicians included in the most recent edition are:

Dr. Ricardo Azziz, Reproductive Endocrinology and Surgery:  Azziz is the eighth President of Georgia Health Sciences University and the CEO of Georgia Health Sciences Health System. His clinical and research interests include reproductive endocrinologic disorders in women, particularly androgen excess, such as polycystic ovary syndrome, non-classic adrenal hyperplasia and hirsutism.

Dr. Sharad A. Ghamande, Gynecology/Oncology:  Ghamande is Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Chief of the Section of Gynecologic Oncology. His clinical and research interests include robotic surgery for gynecologic cancers, the role of folate receptors in ovarian cancer treatment, and chemotherapy trials, including Phase I trials. Dr. Ghamande is also principal investigator for the Georgia Gynecologic Oncology Group, funded by the National Cancer Institute to study innovative approaches to preventing and treating pelvic malignancies including those of the ovaries, cervix, vagina, uterus and vulva.

Dr. David C. Hess, Neurology:  Hess is Chairman and Professor of Neurology and Co-Director of the Brain and Behavior Discovery Institute. He researches novel treatments for acute ischemic stroke, including cell and restorative therapies. He helped develop REACH Health, Inc., a now-nationwide system established in Georgia enabling specialists to consult  with rural health care providers via telemedicine.
Dr. Anand P. Jillella, Hematology/Oncology:  Jillella is Acting Associate Director for Clinical Affairs at the GHSU Cancer Center and Chief of the Division of Hematology/Oncology and Bone Marrow Transplantation in the Department of Medicine. His interests include bone marrow transplantation, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and blood-related cancers.

Dr. Bruce V. MacFadyen, General Surgery:  MacFadyen formerly held the Distinguished Moretz-Mansberger Chair and served as Professor Emeritus in the Department of Surgery. His interests include gastrointestinal surgery, minimally invasive surgery and other new surgical technologies. MacFadyen spends his retirement helping develop surgical training programs in Third World countries.

Dr. Walter J. Moore, Rheumatology:  Moore is Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Section of Rheumatology and Adult Allergy and Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Veterans Affairs.  He treats inflammatory soft-tissue and connective-tissue disorders and researches patient- and family-centered care and patient education.

Dr. Julian J. Nussbaum, Ophthalmology and Vitreo-Retinal Disorders: Nussbaum is Professor and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Co-Director of the Vision Discovery Institute.  He treats diabetic eye disease, age-related macular degeneration, and other degenerative and vascular disorders of the retina.

Dr. Dennis R. Ownby, Pediatric Allergy and Immunology:  Ownby is Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine, and Head of the Section of Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology. He treats asthma and food allergies in children and adults and has identified risk factors for childhood asthma and allergies.

Dr. Gregory N. Postma, Voice and Swallowing Disorders:  Postma is Professor of Otolaryngology and Director of the Center for Voice, Airway and Swallowing Disorders. He treats voice disorders (including those of professional singers), swallowing disorders, airway disorders, gastroesophageal reflux and chronic cough. He helped pioneer in-office surgery and researches extraesophageal reflux, swallowing disorders and in-office surgery.

Dr. Kapil D. Sethi, Neurology:  Sethi is Professor of Neurology and Director of the Movement Disorders Program.  His clinical interests include movement disorders and botulinum toxin injections. He researches Parkinson’s disease, restless legs syndrome and cervical dystonia (spasms in head and neck area).

Dr. Sandra G. B. Sexson, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry:  Sexson is Professor and Chief of the Division of Child, Adolescent and Family Psychiatry in the Department of Psychiatry and Health Behavior.  She specializes in psycho-social aspects of children and adolescents with chronic diseases such as diabetes, cystic fibrosis and cancer.  She researches pediatric oncology, attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder and school continuity for ill children. She is a national leader in psychiatric education.

Dr. Robert A. Sorrentino, Cardiac Electrophysiology: Sorrentino is the Creel Professor of Medicine and Director of the Heart Rhythm Center. He treats heartbeat irregularities and studies treatments including catheter ablation, pacemakers, implantable defibrillators, and laser-assisted extraction of pacemaker or defibrillator wires. He also treats fainting disorders and assesses cardiac arrest risk.

Dr. David J. Terris, Thyroid and Parathyroid Surgery:  Terris is Professor and Chair of the Department of Otolaryngology, holding the Porubsky Distinguished Chair in Otolaryngology. He performs robotic, scarless and minimally invasive thyroid and parathyroid surgery. He researches innovative surgical techniques for thyroid and parathyroid tumors.

Dr. Martha K. Terris, Urology: Terris is Professor and Chief of the Section of Urology, holding the Witherington Distinguished Chair in Urology. She also serves on the urology faculty at the Charlie Norwood Veterans Affairs Medical Center. She performs open, laparoscopic and robotic surgery to treat kidney, bladder and prostate cancer. She also performs nerve-sparing prostatectomy and radical cystectomy with neobladder (creating a new bladder out of intestine).

Dr. Jack C. Yu, Pediatric Plastic Surgery:  Yu is the Milford B. Hatcher Professor of Surgery and Chief of the Section of Plastic Surgery. He treats cleft lip and palate and craniosynostosis as well as aesthetic surgeries such as facelift, blepharoplasty, lip augmentation and rhinoplasty. He researches stem cell therapy and oscillating stimulation of the musculoskeletal system to treat age-related bone and muscle loss.


Return To Previous Page