Home  >  Media Center  >  News Article
print   Bookmark and Share  |  A  A  A
News Article

MCGHealth Physicians Named “America’s Top Doctors”

Augusta, GA
Pictured (left to right, front) are: Dr. Ricardo Azziz, Dr. Sandra G.B. Sexson, Dr. Ana A. Murphy, Dr. James N. Thompson, Dr. Martha K. Terris, (second row) Dr. David C. Hess, Dr. Kapil D. Sethi, Dr. D. Douglas Miller,  Dr. David J. Terris, Dr. David S. Lind (third row) Sandra I. McVicker, Dr. Julian J. Nussbaum, Dr. Gregory N. Postma, (fourth row) Dr. Sharad A. Ghamande, (fifth row) Dr. Dennis R. Ownby, Dr. Bruce V. MacFadyen, Dr. Anand P. Jillella, (back row) Dr. Jack C. Yu and Dr. Walter J. Moore. The awards were presented by Sandra I. McVicker, Interim President and CEO of MCGHealth and Dr. James N. Thompson, who served as Interim President of the Medical College of Georgia from October 1, 2009, to June 30, 2010.  

Eighteen MCGHealth physicians have been selected for inclusion in “America’s Top Doctors,” a national patient reference guide published by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd.  The book, which identifies the top 1 percent of physicians in the nation, helps patients find the top specialists in any given medical field.

The 18 MCGHealth physicians, the majority of whom have been on this distinguished list for the past five years, are:

Dr. Ricardo Azziz, Reproductive Endocrinology and Surgery.  Dr. Azziz is President of the Medical College of Georgia. His clinical and research interests include the care of women suffering from reproductive endocrinologic disorders, in particular those with androgen excess, such as the polycystic ovary syndrome and non-classic adrenal hyperplasia.

Dr. Sharad A. Ghamande, Gynecology/Oncology.  Dr. Ghamande is Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Chief of the Section of Gynecologic Oncology. His clinical and research interests include recurrent ovarian cancers, chemotherapy, novel therapeutic agents and robot assisted minimal access surgery for gynecologic cancers.

Dr. David C. Hess, Neurology.  Dr. Hess is Chairman and Professor of Neurology.  His interests include the treatment of acute ischemic stroke, and research into stroke prevention and cell therapy for stroke. 

Dr. Anand P. Jillella, Hematology/Oncology.  Dr. Jillella is Professor of Medicine, and Chief of the Division of Hematology/Oncology and Bone Marrow Transplantation.  His areas of study include bone marrow transplantation, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and blood-related cancers.

Dr. David Scott Lind, Oncology.  Dr. Lind is Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Section of Surgical Oncology and the Jarrell Distinguished Chair in Surgical Oncology.  His clinical and research interests are in the area of breast cancer.

Dr. Bruce V. MacFadyen, General Surgery.  Dr. MacFadyen is the Distinguished Moretz-Mansberger Chair in Surgery.  He is recognized for his work in gastrointestinal surgery, minimally invasive surgery and new technologies.

Dr. D. Douglas Miller, Cardiovascular Disease.  Dr. Miller is Senior Vice President for Health Affairs, Dean and Regents’ Professor of the School of Medicine. He is known for his expertise in the diagnosis and treatment of heart disease in women, nuclear cardiology, and research into early detection of heart disease and the effects of gender on treatment and outcomes.

Dr. Walter J. Moore, Rheumatology.  Dr. Moore is Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Rheumatology and Adult Allergy.  His interests include the diagnosis and treatment of inflammatory soft tissue disorders, inflammatory connective tissue diseases, patient family centered care and patient education.

Dr. Ana A. Murphy, Reproductive Endocrinology.  Dr. Murphy is Greenblatt Professor and Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Director of the Women’s Health Center of Excellence. Her clinical interests include reproductive endocrinology and infertility, in vitro fertilization, endometriosis and pelvic surgery.

Dr. Julian J. Nussbaum, Ophthalmology.  Dr. Nussbaum is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology and Co-director of the Vision Discovery Institute.  He is recognized for his work in the treatment of diabetic eye disease, age-related macular degeneration, and other degenerative and vascular disorders of the retina.

Dr. Dennis R. Ownby, Pediatric Allergy and Immunology.  Dr. Ownby is Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine, and Head of the Section of Allergy and Immunology.  His clinical interests are asthma and food allergies in children and adults. He has been recognized for his work on factors that contribute to the risk of children developing asthma and allergies.

Dr. Gregory N. Postma, Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery.  Dr. Postma is Professor of Otolaryngology and Director of the Voice and Swallowing Center.  His clinical interests include voice disorders, professional and singing voice care, swallowing disorders, airway surgery and reconstruction, gastroesophageal reflux and chronic cough.  He is one of the pioneers of in-office surgery.  His research interests include extraesophageal reflux, swallowing disorders management and in-office surgery.

Dr. Kapil D. Sethi, Neurology.  Dr. Sethi is Professor of Neurology and Director of the Movement Disorders Program.  His clinical interests include treating movement disorders, the use of botulinum toxin injections, and research into new drugs for Parkinson’s disease and restless legs syndrome.

Dr. Sandra G. B. Sexson, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.  Dr. Sexson is Professor and Chief of the Division of Child, Adolescent and Family Psychiatry in the Department of Psychiatry and Health Behavior.  Her clinical interest is the psycho-social aspects of chronic medical illness in children and adolescents, e.g., diabetes, cystic fibrosis and cancer.  Her research interests include pediatric oncology, ADHD and getting medically ill children back in school. She is a national leader in psychiatric education.

Dr. Robert A. Sorrentino, Cardiac Electrophysiology.  Dr. Sorrentino is Creel Professor of Medicine and Interim Section Chief of Cardiology. His clinical and research interests are irregular heartbeats, abnormal heart rates, catheter ablation, the implantation and troubleshooting of pacemakers, implantable defibrillators, pacemaker lead extraction and the evaluation of fainting (syncope).

Dr. David J. Terris, Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery.  Dr. Terris is Professor, Department Chair and Porubsky Distinguished Chair in the Otolaryngology Department. His clinical interests are minimally invasive thyroid and parathyroid surgery. His research focuses on innovative surgical techniques for thyroid and parathyroid tumors.

Dr. Martha K. Terris, Urology.  Dr. Terris is chief of the Section of Urology at the Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center and Professor of Urology at the Medical College of Georgia.  Her research interests include prostate biopsy techniques, prostate cancer risk factors, bladder cancer risk factors, nutritional therapies for prostate cancer and new imaging techniques for urologic cancers.

Dr. Jack C. Yu, Pediatric Plastic Surgery.  Dr. Yu is Professor and Chief of the Section of Plastic Surgery. His clinical interests include traditional aesthetic surgeries such as facelift, blepharoplasties, lip augmentations, and rhinoplasties. His research interests focus on cyclic stimulation of the musculo-skeletal system to prevent age-related bone and muscle loss.

MCG Health, Inc. (d/b/a MCGHealth) is a not-for-profit corporation operating the MCGHealth Medical Center, MCGHealth Children’s Medical Center, MCGHealth Cancer Center, Georgia Radiation Therapy Center, and related outpatient facilities and services throughout the state.  For more information, please visit mcghealth.org.


Return To Previous Page